Richard Grayson: I am really running for Congress in AZ-06 and got on the presidential preference primary by mistake

This won’t be easy,
you’ll think it’s strange.
When I try to explain how I feel –
that I don’t need your vote
after all that I’ve done.

You won’t believe me.

All you will see is a guy you don’t know,
although he’s campaigned – well, sort of –
on this blog to be read by you.

I had to let it happen.
I had to change.
Couldn’t stay all my life in the desert.
Looking out at iguana and cactus,
staying out of the sun.
So I choose freedom.

Running around, trying everything new.
But nothing impressed me at all.
I never expected it to.


Don’t vote for me, Arizona.
The truth is I want to leave you.
All through my wild days
My mad existence
I kept my promise, now please keep your distance.


And as for fortune,
and as for fame,
I never invited them in –
though it appeared, to the world,
they were all I desired.
They are illusions,
they’re not the solutions they promised to be.
The answer was here all the time.
I love you, yeah right, and hope you love me.

Don’t vote for me, Arizona.
The truth is I want to leave you.
All through my wild days
My mad existence
I kept my promise, now please keep your distance.

(Except for voters in the Sixth Congressional District.)

One Response

  1. Did anyone ever tell you you look a lot like Madonna?

Leave a Reply

